Requirements of institutional investors

Institutional investors are classified according to five categories:

  • Pension funds;
  • Life insurers' non-linked business;
  • Life insurers' linked business;
  • CIS managers; and
  • Discretionary financial services providers registered with the SARB.

An institutional investor may invest funds offshore up to the applicable prudential limit and must submit quarterly reports to the SARB providing information on the allocation of assets according to the major asset classes. An institutional investor must also obtain an audit report on an annual basis from its external auditors assessing the institutional investor’s quarterly asset allocation reports.

Section B.2(H) of the Currency and Exchanges Manual for Authorised Dealers contains information relevant to institutional investors.


Institutional name list updated 2024-06-12


Portfolio Investment Reporting System

The Portfolio Investment Reporting System was developed to enable registered institutional investors to submit their quarterly asset allocation reports electronically.

Any queries relating to the system can be directed to


In terms of section B.2(H) of the Currency and Exchanges Manual for Authorised Dealers, institutional investors directly or indirectly holding portfolio assets are required, as part of their financial year-end audit, to obtain an audit report from their external auditors assessing their quarterly asset allocation reports.

Click here for more information on the institutional investor auditor's report.


Important notices with regard to the submission of quarterly asset allocation reports:

Amendments to section B.2(H) of the Currency and Exchanges Manual for Authorised Dealers as it relates to institutional investors refer to Exchange Control Circular No. 10/2022.