Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
South African Reserve Bank

Co-operative Banks  

Co-operative Banks are member owned banks based on the 7 co-operative principles:
1-     Voluntary and open membership
2-     Democratic member control
3-     Members’ economic participation
4-     Autonomy and independence
5-     Education, information and training
6-     Co-operation between co-operatives
7-     Concern for community
The first co-operative bank in South Africa was registered in 2011. The SARB is responsible for the supervision of all registered co-operative banks, whilst the Co-operative Bank Development Agency (CBDA) is responsible for the supervision of Co-operative Financial Institutions and development and training needs of the sector.
Sign In
Co-operative Banks Help (new window)