

## Media release

15 March 2024

## Annexure A: Responsibilities of the Governor and Deputy Governors

**Governor Kganyago** is the Chairperson of the Monetary Policy Committee (MPC), Financial Stability Committee (FSC) and Prudential Committee (Pruco). He is responsible for Economic Research, Strategy Management, Communications, Group Secretariat, and Internal Audit.

**Deputy Governor Fundi Tshazibana** was appointed the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Prudential Authority (PA) with effect from 1 April 2022. The appointment of Ms Tshazibana as CEO of the PA is in accordance with section 37 of the Financial Sector Regulation Act 9 of 2017 (FSR Act) and was made in concurrence with the Minister of Finance. She oversees the Prudential Cluster, which includes the PA and the Financial Surveillance Department. Deputy Governor Tshazibana represents the South African Reserve Bank (SARB) on the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision and the Financial Stability Board's Standing Committee on Supervisory and Regulatory Cooperation. She is the Vice-Chairperson of the Network for Greening the Financial System (NFGS).

**Deputy Governor Rashad Cassim** heads up the Markets and International Cluster, which includes the Financial Markets Department, International Economic Relations and Policy Department, and General Counsel. He is also in charge of the National Payment System Department.

South Africa will host the Group of Twenty (G20) in 2025 and Deputy Governor Cassim is South Africa's Central Bank Deputy at both the G20 and BRICS meetings. He also serves on the Bank for International Settlements' (BIS) Markets Committee. DG Cassim is the Chair of the Financial Markets Liaison Group, Market Practitioners Group and the Corporation for Public Deposits (CPD).

**Deputy Governor Mampho Modise** will be responsible for the following departments: Financial Stability, Economic Statistics, Risk Management and Compliance as well as the Fintech Unit and the newly established Corporation for Deposit Insurance (CODI).

All three deputy governors will be members of the SARB's MPC, FSC and Pruco.