Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
South African Reserve Bank


The South African Reserve Bank (“the Reserve Bank”) is empowered to designate a settlement system as a designated settlement system in terms of section 4A (4) of the National Payment System Act, 1998 (Act No. 78 of 1998 as amended by the National Payment System Amendment Act, Act No. 22 of 2004 – “the Act”). Such designation may be made if the designation is in the interest of the integrity, effectiveness, efficiency or security of the payment system.

 Related Documents

Sign In
NPS Legislation Help (new window)