Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
South African Reserve Bank


Each member of the MPC has expertise in the field of economics and monetary policy. Members do not represent individual groups or areas and members of the committee set the interest rates through a process of consensus.
MPC members receive extensive briefings on the economy from Reserve Bank staff not only at MPC meetings but throughout the year.
The decisions of the MPC are based on the Bank’s objectives as well a thorough assessment of the current, and envisaged, outlook for the economy, monetary issues, inflation and financial stability.
The current MPC members are: 
​Ms G Marcus
Dr X P Guma
Senior Deputy Governor
Mr A D Mminele
Deputy Governor
Mr L Kganyago
Deputy Governor
Mr S B Kahn
Advisor to the Governor
Dr M Mnyande
Chief Economist and
Advisor to the Governor​

Bertus van Zyl

Mr L van Zyl
Special Projects
Dr R Cassim
Head: Research Department




Sign In
Monetary Policy Committee Help (new window)