Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
South African Reserve Bank

Exchange of old R200 banknotes 

Old R200 banknotes may be exchanged at the South African Reserve Bank Head Office teller and Branches in Bloemfontein, Cape Town, Durban, East London, Johannesburg and Port Elizabeth.  Details regarding each Branch may be obtained by clicking here.
Operating Hours
08h30 to 12h00 (Monday – Friday)
Limitation on amount exchanged
The Bank's branches will exchange amounts up to R10 000 and any amount in excess will have to be credited into individuals / company bank accounts. Clients must supply the following information as is required by Financial Intelligence Centre Act.
1. Positive identification:  ID / Passport document
2. Commercial bank account details
3. Source of Income / Origin of the funds
4. Proof of residence (e.g. electricity bill; rates and water accounts;
    telephone accounts).
Sign In
Public Awareness Help (new window)